Hidden Northumberland: Morpeth in Springtime

The plants coming back to life helps to lift spirits.

Whilst on my 365 Day Photograph Challenge, I am always trying to find new places in my hometown to photograph. Usually, I rarely spend any time wandering around Morpeth as I spend most of my time working in Newcastle and commuting to and fro. But, with the impetus of having to find at least one photograph every day, it has encouraged me to get out when I can and find new and different angles.

It has also made me appreciate just how well our public spaces are cared for and maintained. Perhaps something we can take for granted, but this year’s spring displays have been stunning and I would like to thank everyone who has worked on them. They are truly appreciated!

Here is a selection of some of my favourites.

Morpeth Spring (1).jpg

Cherry blossom against a stormy sky (juxtaposition to the max!), crab apple blossom, and Morpeth Cenotaph peeping out from behind tulips.

Morpeth Spring (2).jpg

Tulips and cherry blossom on the Newcastle Road

Morpeth Spring (3).jpg

Morpeth Court House viewed from Carlisle Park

Morpeth Spring (4).jpg

Cherry blossom next to the Chantry Bridge and Acers in full leaf in Carlisle Park

St James (2).jpg

Church of St James the Great

Leave a Reply

